The Trophy Wine Show

2022 Judges’ Feedback

After last year’s competition, on Thursday 16 June 2022, a webinar was hosted for the judges’ feedback, with them sharing their opinions on the various classes they judged. Michael Fridjhon, chairman of the judges introduced the session with an overview of entries and stats from the 3½ days.

Michael Fridjhon Investec the new sponsor
Michael Fridjhon The range of medals
Anthony Mueller Pinotage
Anthony Mueller Shiraz
Anthony Rose on Chenin Blanc
Anthony Rose Rhone style red blends
Cathy van Zyl MW Chardonnay
Cathy van Zyl MW Cape Fortifieds
Eric Goettelmann Cabernet Sauvignon
Eric Goettelmann Sauvignon Blanc Semillon blends
Francois Rautenbach Cabernet Franc
Francois Rautenbach Shiraz
Heidi Duminy CWM Cap Classique
Heidi Duminy CWM Pinot Noir
JD Pretorius Niche Reds
JD Pretorius Sauvignon Blanc
Patson Mathonsi Cape Merlot
Patson Mathonsi Niche Whites
Spencer Fondaumiere Oak in Sauvignon Blanc
Tongai Joseph Dhafana Pinotage